World Mathematical Year 2000

In 1992 the International Mathematical Union designated the year 2000 as World Mathematical Year. Several countries issued special stamps with a mathematical theme, including Monaco (with a variety of mathematical images), Belgium (Stokes’ theorem, Fermat’s last theorem and the Ishango bone), Korea (numerical symbols), Croatia (the ‘Blanusa snark’ from graph theory), Italy (Archimedes’ sphere and cylinder), Luxembourg (the WMY 2000 logo and the Riemann zeta function) and Spain (the geometer Julio Rey Pastor).
 [Belgium 2000; Croatia 2000; Italy 2000; Korea 2000; Luxembourg 2000; Monaco 2000; Spain 2000]

Publicado/editado: 24/02/2015